ACTION ALERT: Contact the House Appropriations Committee to Oppose HB 1100

Legislative ,
Urging all MHCW members to Contact the Members of the House Appropriations Committee in Opposition of HB 1100.
This bill is scheduled for Hearing Tuesday, January 25 at 3:30pm.
TO DOWNLOAD SUBSTITUTE HOUSE BILL 1100 Click Here

HB 1100:  Right of First Refusal

Dear MHCW Members,
The 2022 Legislative Session has begun and we are already facing bills that will affect our industry. We need your help to let the Legislature know that we are against these restrictions. Since the 2022 Session is virtual, it is now easier than ever to participate and have your voice heard!
HB 1100Right of First Refusal
READS: Concerning the sale or lease of manufactured/mobile home communities and the property on which they sit.
  • This bill would harm residents by creating “false alarms”; a sale does not necessarily mean a community is closing. By far, most sales occur with the new owners intending to continue as an MHC. Any legislation must be limited to when a community owner voluntarily lists their community with a broker.
  • Homeowner’s associations need to be formal, recognized groups registered with the state. Neither HOAs nor any other party should be given an unfair advantage in private property transactions. 
  • The legislation could significantly limit your private property owners' opportunities to complete a 1031 tax free exchange.
  • It unfairly discriminates against just one type of real estate and housing without any data to support the distinction.  
  • There is no clear definition of what constitutes a “bona fide offer.” This could open the door to fraud and abuse.
  • This bill does not protect against harmful, rights-violating activity, but rather damages, or appropriates, property for the benefit of others. 
  • Our Supreme Court has previously stated that a MH community closure “does not breach any of [the residents] legal rights or entitlements.”
  • If enacted as written, it would likely constitute an unconstitutional taking
Status HB: House Appropriations Committee
Hearing Scheduled:  Tuesday, January 25, 2022, at 3:30 p.m.
  
  
It is now easier than ever to participate and have your voices heard. Use one of these three options below---submit written, testify virtually, or state "CON" for the public record (this is the easiest method).
   
  
Please also contact the members of the  House Appropriations Committee 
Urging them to OPPOSE HB 1100
 
 Please take action right away!
Name / District / Party / Legal Assistant (LA) / LA Email / Phone / Representative's Email
Steve Bergquist / 11 / D / Syd Locke Syd.Locke@leg.wa.gov (253) 214-3275 Steve.Bergquist@leg.wa.gov

Matt Boehnke / 8 / R / Dinah Le Duc Dinah.LeDuc@leg.wa.gov (509) 315-2315 Matt.Boehnke@leg.wa.gov

Michelle Caldier / 26 / R / Robert Lewis robert.lewis@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7802 Michelle.Caldier@leg.wa.gov

Kelly Chambers / 25 / R / Dianna Hawkins Dianna.Hawkins@leg.wa.gov (360) 746-3670 Kelly.Chambers@leg.wa.gov

Bruce Chandler / 15 / R / Melinda Bailey Melinda.Bailey@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7960 Bruce.Chandler@leg.wa.gov

Frank Chopp / 43 / D / Daniel Lugo Daniel.Lugo@leg.wa.gov (206) 905-6681 frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov

Eileen Cody / 34 / D / Samantha Morrow Samantha.Morrow@leg.wa.gov (564) 888-2493 eileen.cody@leg.wa.gov

Chris Corry / 14 / R / Gale Sackman Gale.Sackman@leg.wa.gov (509) 907-6087 Chris.Corry@leg.wa.gov

Laurie Dolan / 22 / D / Eileen Swarthout Eileen.Swarthout@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7940 Laurie.Dolan@leg.wa.gov

Mary Dye / 9 / R / Pam Shaffer Pam.Shaffer@leg.wa.gov (564) 888-2380 mary.dye@leg.wa.gov

Joe Fitzgibbon / 34 / D / Holly Hines Holly.Hines@leg.wa.gov (564) 888-2362 joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov

Noel Frame / 36 / D / Natalia Koss Vallejo Natalia.KossVallejo@leg.wa.gov (206) 962-5098 noel.frame@leg.wa.gov

Mia Gregerson / 33 / D / Kaela Salivio-Bird Kaela.Salivio-Bird@leg.wa.gov (253) 981-6278 mia.gregerson@leg.wa.gov

Drew Hansen / 23 / D / Audrey Audette Audrey.Audette@leg.wa.gov (206) 333-2975 drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov

Paul Harris / 17 / R / Toni Camp toni.camp@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7976 Paul.Harris@leg.wa.gov

Larry Hoff / 18 / R / Virginia Hall Virginia.Hall@leg.wa.gov (360) 419-5592 Larry.Hoff@leg.wa.gov

Cyndy Jacobsen / 25 / R / Andrew Willett Andrew.Willett@leg.wa.gov (253) 449-8545 Cyndy.Jacobsen@leg.wa.gov

Jesse Johnson / 30 / D / Anna Johnson Anna.Johnson@leg.wa.gov (206) 333-2989 Jesse.Johnson@leg.wa.gov

Debra Lekanoff / 40 / D / Cole Harvey Cole.Harvey@leg.wa.gov (360) 419-5266 Debra.Lekanoff@leg.wa.gov

Drew MacEwen / 35 / R / Robert Barnes Rob.Barnes@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7902 drew.macewen@leg.wa.gov

Nicole Macri / 43 / D / Emily Stone Emily.Stone@leg.wa.gov (206) 333-4228 nicole.macri@leg.wa.gov

Timm Ormsby / 3 / D / Shannon Waechter Shannon.Waechter@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7946 timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov

Gerry Pollet / 46 / D / Emily Grupp Emily.Grupp@leg.wa.gov (206) 307-0409 gerry.pollet@leg.wa.gov

Skyler Rude / 16 / R / Conor Agnew Conor.Agnew@leg.wa.gov (509) 593-4559 Skyler.Rude@leg.wa.gov

Cindy Ryu / 32 / D / Shoubee Liaw Shoubee.Liaw@leg.wa.gov (206) 307-0769 cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov

Joe Schmick / 9 / R / Trixie Harmon Trixie.Harmon@leg.wa.gov (253) 275-1425 joe.schmick@leg.wa.gov

Tana Senn / 41 / D / Yuval Berenstein Yuval.Berenstein@leg.wa.gov (425) 279-5345 tana.senn@leg.wa.gov

Larry Springer / 45 / D / Natalie Whitesel Natalie.Whitesel@leg.wa.gov (425) 947-8921 larry.springer@leg.wa.gov

Mike Steele / 12 / R / Brenda Glenn Brenda.Glenn@leg.wa.gov (509) 782-3436 mike.steele@leg.wa.gov

Drew Stokesbary / 31 / R / Gina Palermo Gina.Palermo@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7846 drew.stokesbary@leg.wa.gov

Monica Jurado Stonier / 49 / D / Erika Odem Erika.Odem@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7872 monica.stonier@leg.wa.gov

Pat Sullivan / 47 / D / Lesley Roberts Lesley.Roberts@leg.wa.gov (360) 786-7858 Pat.Sullivan@leg.wa.gov

Steve Tharinger / 24 / D / Dawn Thomas Dawn.Thomas@leg.wa.gov (564) 888-2366 steve.tharinger@leg.wa.gov